Marriage License Requirements
All engaged couples who intend to apply for a marriage license in Alexander County, N.C. must meet the following requirements. Please note you can obtain your marriage license from any Register of Deeds office located in North Carolina as long as your wedding ceremony is scheduled to take place in North Carolina. These requirements may vary from office to office. The state laws governing marriage license issuances are found in General Statute Chapter 51.
- The prospective applicants cannot be married to anyone at the time of applying for the marriage license.
- The wedding ceremony must take place in North Carolina and occur within sixty (60) days of issuance of the marriage license.
- The fee for the marriage license is $60.00 and must be paid with cash or a money order. We do not accept personal checks, debit or credit cards.
- Each applicant must provide appropriate I.D. for determining age and Social Security number. There will be NO EXCEPTIONS.
Acceptable Photo ID:
- Driver's license (may not be expired)
- State Issued I.D. Card (may not be expired)
- U.S. Passport (may not be expired). If you are not a U.S. Citizen, you will need a valid passport for identification.
- United States Military I.D.
Acceptable proof of Social Security Number*
- Original Social Security Card (no photocopies)
- W-2 Form, Personal Income Tax Return, Insurance Card with complete 9-digit S.S. number
- Some other reasonable proof (please call)
*Note: An alien admitted to the United States for permanent residence or to engage in employment must be issued a Social Security number. Applicants who are not eligible for a Social Security number may obtain a marriage license by signing an affidavit attesting to this fact. The affidavit is available in the Register of Deeds office.
- ➢ Each applicant must be eighteen (18) years old at the time of application and issuance of the marriage license. Anyone under the age of 18 should contact our office by telephone (828) 632-3152 for further details.
- Should circumstances be that either applicant is unable to appear for application, again contact the Register of Deeds office for additional instructions.
- If this is to be a remarriage for either party to the marriage, the month and year that your last marriage ended will be needed. If it was completed due to a divorce during the past 6 months, we will need to see a copy of the filed divorce decree.
- Marriage licenses are issued between 8:00a.m. and 4:30p.m. We urge all prospective marital couples to be present in our office no later than 4:30p.m. (EST) in order to apply for and obtain their marriage license the same business day. The marriage license application process can be expedited by obtaining and completing the marriage license application form prior to arriving at the Register of Deeds office. [Download the form here.]
- There is no waiting period following issuance of the marriage license. The engaged couple may marry immediately.
- No physical exams or blood tests are required.
- The photographing of applicants or Register of Deeds staff during the Marriage License process is prohibited without the consent of the Register of Deeds Staff member(s). [Effective May 1, 2015.]
- The staff of the Alexander County Magistrate’s Office are available to officiate your ceremony. You may contact their office at (828) 635-3119 for location, hours, fees and further information.
Location and Contact Information:
Alexander County Register of Deeds
75 1st Street SW, Suite 1
Taylorville, NC 28681
Phone: (828) 632-3152
Fax: (828) 632-1119
Monday thru Friday, 8:00a.m. – 4:30p.m. for marriage license issuances.
Our office is closed on legal holidays.